Super Duper Easy Potato Soup

Standard

On my last post, I posted a photo of me wearing a scuba mask while dicing onions. Well, I was watching Katie Brown Workshop this morning and she had a chef on there chopping onions. He made a comment that the only way not to tear up while cutting onions is to wear a SCUBA MASK! See I am not so crazy 😉 I believe I have mentioned this before, I  have onion goggles and I love them. They are a little more stylish than the scuba mask 🙂

I purchased my goggles from my friend Marcus. He owns a store in Duncan, OK. You can purchase them from him on his website Distinctive Decor.

I love Baked potato soup. One of my favorite places to get a bowl is in St. Charles at Magpie’s. This is not a baked potato soup, but it’s the cheater way of making Potato soup.

            Super Duper Easy Potato Soup                                                                        adapted from Pearls, Handcuffs and Happy Hour

  • 1 30 oz. bag of frozen, shredded hash browns
  • 42 oz.   chicken broth (or 3 – 14 oz cans)
  • 1 can of cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup onion, chopped
  • heavy pinch of ground pepper
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 pkg. cream cheese

In a crockpot, combine everything EXCEPT for the cream cheese.  Cook for 6-8 hours on low heat.  About 1 hour before serving, add cream cheese and keep heated until thoroughly melted.  Serve with the toppings of your choice. I topped mine with Mexican blend cheese, sour cream, bacon bits and green onions.

Note: After chopping the onions, I sauteed them in olive oil for a few minutes. Totally not necessary, but I didn’t want the onion to be crunchy….because Grace would have figured out there was onion in it 😉 Check out my comment at the bottom of the post on the hash browns.

Seriously…this must be the easiest soup to make!

Ingredient Line up.

Put everything in the crockpot BUT the cream cheese. Cook for 6 to 8 hours on low.

Add cream cheese an hour before ready to serve. Continue cooking for an hour.

The toppings are really necessary, at least the bacon and cheese are.

Super Duper Easy Potato Soup.

After I had already purchased my hash browns. I started thinking that this would be really good with the hash browns that already have the red peppers and onions in it. Next time I will use those, but the ones with the cubed potatoes. I think that would make it really really good. When I make it next, I will let you know which way is better.

~Relish Food & Life

 

4 responses »

  1. Jill, my sister doesn’t like onions also so she uses the dried onion flakes. I think they are freeze dried. Gives the onion flavor without the onion crunch and not such a strong onion flavor…

Leave a Reply

