Chicken with a Creamy Basil Parmesan Sauce

Standard

I have heard from several people that they loved the Parmesan Baked Potato Halves. I had them again last night at a friend’s house. Soo good. While I was on the site that I found that recipe, I decided to check out some of their other recipes. My search led me to this recipe,  Chicken in Basil Cream Sauce.

Make sure you read all the way through my postings. I usually put tips and what I would do next time through out and at the end.

Chicken with a Creamy Basil Parmesan Sauce

  • 1 cup milk
  •  Panko Italian bread crumbs
  • 4 boneless chicken breasts cut into halves (8 pieces) (see my note)
  • 1/4 cup margarine  2 T butter and 2 T olive oil
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 1 tsp dried basil  ( heavy tsp plus a pinch more)
  • 1/8 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 1 1/4  cup grated Parmesan cheese

Place milk and bread crumbs in separate shallow bowls. Dip chicken in milk, then coat with crumbs. In a skillet over medium heat add butter and olive oil. When butter has melted add chicken in butter until browned on both sides and done. Remove chicken from skillet and put into a baking dish. Then pop it into a warm oven.

Add chicken broth to skillet and stir to loosen up browned bits from pan. Stir in cream, basil, and pepper and bring to a boil. Simmer a few minutes so the sauce thickens a bit. Turn heat to low and whisk in Parmesan cheese. Heat until cheese has melted and thickened up a bit; stirring occasionally. Pour sauce over the chicken and serve.

NOTE: I purchased a package of 6 thin sliced boneless chicken breast. If you purchase regular chicken breast. You will want to pound them until flattened. That way it will cook evenly throughout.

Ingredient line up minus olive oil, chicken and Parmesan cheese.

Dip the chicken into the milk, then coat it with panko crumbs.

Melt butter and olive oil in skillet.

Add chicken.

Flip after brown on one side. Then cook until done.

Remove Chicken. Put in the oven to keep warm. Add chicken broth to the skillet. Simmer a few minutes.

Add, cream, basil and pepper. Simmer.

Add Parmesan cheese. Cook until cheese has melted and thickened a bit.

Chicken with Creamy Basil Parmesan Sauce

This made a lot of sauce. I should have served it on top of pasta.

Next time: 1. After I remove the chicken from the pan, I am going to add 1 maybe 2 cloves of minced garlic to the pan. Cook it for 1 minute. Then add the chicken stock. Why? Because I love garlic 🙂 It is not necessary, but I think it might be a tasty addition. 2. Serve it with pasta.

This was a quick and tasty dish, especially if you buy the chicken already cut thin.

~Relish Life & Food

One response »

Leave a Reply

