Silk Dyed Eggs and Sausage Pomodoro Brunch Bake

Standard

We made Breakfast with Samantha today 🙂 All the way from West Palm Beach. Technology is great, especially when a love one lives so far away.

This recipe was in the News Democrat this week. They always hassle me when I try a new egg casserole, because they love my Mom’s Breakfast Casserole. This is totally different from hers, Mark said he loved the tomatoes in it.Please make sure to see my notes on ingredients.

Sausage-Pomodoro Brunch Bake

  • 1 12-ounce package bulk reduced-fat pork breakfast sausage
  • 1/3 cup refrigerated basil pesto
  • 1 can Pillsbury refrigerated crescent dinner rolls
  • 1 14.5-ounce can Muir Glen organic diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1/3 cup crumbled feta cheese (1½ ounce)
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (4 ounces)
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 3 tablespoons shredded fresh basil leaves

Heat oven to 375degrees. In 10-inch nonstick skillet, cook sausage 6 to 8 minutes over medium heat or until no longer pink, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat. Stir in pesto. Set aside to cool.  Unroll crescent dough into 13-by-9-inch glass baking dish. Press dough in bottom and ½ inch up sides. Press perforations to seal. Spoon sausage into dough-lined dish. Sprinkle tomatoes and feta cheese over sausage. Top with mozzarella cheese.  In medium bowl, beat eggs and milk with wire whisk until well-blended. Pour egg mixture evenly over ingredients in dish.  Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until dough is golden brown and knife inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes. Sprinkle with fresh basil.
Yield: Serves 8.

NOTES: I used Italian sausage and used around 1 3/4 lb. I feel the Italian sausage gave it an extra little kick. I used an Italian mix for the mozzarella cheese. I had a package open and just used that. I did not have any fresh basil. I hope to soon, it is planted 🙂 I am thinking next time I will use a mixture of the diced tomatoes and sun dried tomatoes or all sun dried. I love the flavor of sun dried tomatoes.

Sorry, no ingredient line up.

See, I cooked breakfast with Samantha and Jeff 🙂 Press crescent Rolls into the bottom of a 9 x 13.

Brown sausage; drain and mix with pesto.

Put sausage and drained tomatoes on top of crust.

Top with cheeses.

Beat eggs and milk together and pour over the casserole.

Pop it into the oven.

I wish I had fresh basil, that would have made it extra good.

Sausage Pomodoro Brunch Bake. FYI, I just looked up Pomodoro, it means tomato in Italian.

Ok, I had some fun today with eggs, Silk- Dyed Eggs. I found this on Our Best Bites. Please click and see her wonderful photos. Mark decided he could part with one (1) tie.

Find a 100%silk tie and fresh eggs.

Take out the lining of tie, so it is just the silk.

Wrap the egg with the right side of the fabric making contact with the egg. The right side is the printed side, or the side that would be on the outside of the tie. You want to try to wrap the fabric as tight as you can without breaking the egg.

Then take an old pillowcase or handkerchief and wrap the eggs with it. I used twisty ties to secure at the top.

Pop them in to a pot of water with 1/4 cup of vinegar. Bring to a boil; boil for 20 minutes.

Removed and let cool in a colander or on a towel. I got impatient here!

IT WORKED! I probably did not use the best tie, kind of dark.

Love the crosses on this one.

Pretty cool. I cannot wait to try it with colorful ties. I had to show you before Easter was over. So, go to your husbands closet or a thrift store and find a 100% silk tie to try this out!

Please check out Our Best Bites site. They have some awesome eggs on there. They suggested not eating the eggs, they are unsure about the dyes used in the silk 😦

Happy Easter!

~Relish Family and Friends!

4 responses »

  1. The eggs look great Jill! What a fun project. Yummy breakfast casserole, and technology is great. Sad Sam won’t be home for Easter! 😦

    See you tomorrow!

    Erica

  2. Love the eggs! I did eggs today with JT, Charlie, Maddie & Ethan. Ours ddn’t look that good, but it sure was fun!

Leave a Reply

