Apple, Bacon and Garlic Stuffed Pork Chops

Standard

Samantha, my daughter sent me this recipe. She said it was yummy and she was right!

She tries to follow the Paleo Diet when possible. I think she does a pretty good job at sticking to it. It is  known as the Caveman diet. The Paleo Diet consists of all the lean meat, seafood, poultry, fruits, and non-starchy vegetables you can eat without having to portion your food or count your calories.  You do have to stay away from cereals, legumes, and processed food. There are several blogs that just give Paleo recipes. This one came from Paleo Parents. I am thinking a diet that lets you eat BACON, that diet is for me 😉 I wish potatoes were on the list! I think you can eat sweet potatoes, but I seriously cannot give up potatoes. I would take a good ole baked potato before a sweet.

You can click on Paleo Parents above to see her recipe on her blog or on Paleo diet for more info on the diet. Below is my version of the recipe, which I think I might have cross the paleo line.

Apple, Bacon & Garlic Stuffed Pork Chop

  • 6 1″ thick pork chops
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil if needed
  • 2 medium baking apples (I used Gala), peeled, cored and diced
  • 10 strips of bacon, diced
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 fresh sage leaves, finely chopped
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1/2 cup white wine (I used Chardonnay)
  • 1/2 cup chicken Broth
  • 1 T. cornstarch
  1. Pocket your pork chops. You can have your butcher do this for you. I just did it myself.
  2. In a large oven proof pan or dutch oven melt  over medium-high heat cook apples, bacon and onion until onion is softened and bacon is crispy, about 8 – 10 minutes
  3. Add garlic, sage, paprika and lemon juice and toss for 2 minutes
  4. Remove stuffing from heat, transfer to bowl and set-aside
  5.  Salt and pepper the top side of the pork chop, stuff it with as much stuffing as you can fit and use a skewer or toothpick to close.
  6. Add a little olive oil to the pan. Approximately 2 T. Let it get hot, which will not take very long.
  7. Put pork chops salt and peppered side down into the hot pan to sear on each side, cook each side of the chops for 5 minutes or until browned in hot pan over medium-high heat. Before flipping to the other side, salt and pepper the pork chops.
  8. Transfer pan/dutch oven to 350 degree oven and bake uncovered for 30 – 35 minutes or until done. Baking time will depend on the size of the chops, so keep an eye on them.
  9. Remove the chops from the pan onto a serving platter. Cover to keep warm.
  10. Put pan on stove top on med/hi heat….remember the handle is hot! I forgot! Add the leftover stuffing.
  11. Add the wine and broth to the pan to deglaze the pan; scraping the bottom/sides to get all the good stuff off.
  12. I took 1 T of cornstarch and 2 spoonfuls of the hot liquid and mix that together well. Then added it to the sauce to thicken it up a bit. Salt and pepper and you are ready!

Pocket the pork chops.

Chop one red onion.

Peel, core and dice 2 apples.

I also diced the bacon. Add Apples, onions and bacon to the pan. Cook until bacon is getting crispy.

4 fresh sage leaves. If you live in my area, I have some growing in my yard, Please call me for some.

Mince the garlic and sage.

Add garlic, sage, paprika a lemon juice to the pan. Toss around for a few minutes. Remove stuffing from pan into a bowl. Doesn't that look yummy?

Stuff your chops with the stuffing.

Use a toothpick or skewer to close the pocket.

Add a bit of Olive oil to the pan if needed. Place salt and peppered side down. Salt and pepper the side that is up. This pan is huge and they almost did not fit.

Brown; flip to the other side and brown.

When brown, remove from the oven.

Remove the chops to a platter. Try and skim off any fat.

Add the leftover stuffing to the pan. Let the pan get hot.

I couldn't decide to use wine or broth, so I used both. Add the wine and broth. Scrap bottom and sides to loosen the yummy stuff.

Simmer for a few minutes. Stir in the cornstarch mixture.

That was yummy! I just ate one for lunch while writing this 😉

My chop was perfect, Mark said his was a little dry. His was a tiny bit thinner than mine. So, that could have made the different. You just need to watch it. We were waiting for Grace to come home. I did cover it for about 5 minutes after the 35 minutes of baking. I am thinking it might be a good idea to cover it the last 10 mins. of cooking. That might keep them all moist.

Apple, Bacon and Garlic Stuffed Pork Chops. Thanks Samantha!

After all that bacon, head on over to Comprehensive Care Pharmacy and get some Ocean Blue Omega 3’s. It suppose to help lower your cholesterol 😉

~Relish Life & Food

Leave a Reply

