Bacon, Black Bean and Poblano Pepper Chowder

Standard

Cold + Rainy = Soup Day!

I cannot even remember what I was searching for, but I came across this recipe on Bitchin Camero’s Blog. It was really good and hit the spot on a cold night.

Bacon, Black Bean & Poblano Pepper Chowder

  • 8 10 sliced bacon, sliced into small pieces
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 large Poblano peppers, roasted, seeded and roughly chopped
  • 2 3 cups chicken broth, divided use
  • 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 T tomato paste
  • 2 cups corn
  • juice of 1 lime
  • salt to taste
  • hot sauce to taste
  • avocado
  • cilantro

Set a large pot over medium-high heat and add the bacon. Cook until the fat is rendered and they are nice and crisp, then remove the bacon to a plate.

Add the onions and saute for 5 – 7 minutes, or until soft. Add the garlic and saute for another minute, then add the roughly chopped roasted poblano peppers, 2 cups stock, black beans and tomato paste. Bring to a slow simmer, then reduce the heat to medium-low, cover and let cook for 15 minutes.

Using an immersion blender, pulse the soup until all big pepper pieces are gone. Stir in the corn, 1 cup Broth and hot sauce. Cook for another 5 minutes, then stir in the lime juice and salt to taste. Stir in the bacon.

Ladle the soup into bowl and top with avocado  and cilantro.

There are only 2 things I ever need from Wal Mart. (I am not a fan of Wal Mart! I will not get on my soap box on why.Call me if you want to know 😉 ) One: is Poblano peppers when the Mexican Store in Breese does not have them. Two: Cajun Trail Mix.That trail mix is the best darn stuff. It is not too spicy, kind of sweet, it is just right. I have turned many people onto that mix!

I wanted to show you what it looked like, so I went to walmart.com and did a search, Great Value Cajun trail Mix. You would have thought it would have been the first thing. NO, it brings up over 1,000 products. I searched through 10 pages and gave up. I went to google and typed it in....got it instantly! Seriously! Anyway, this is really good.

I had to share this.....I asked if they had anymore peppers (the ones out did not look good) in back and she kindly went and got me some. I then told her that this is not spelled right. She said "That does not surprise me!"

Fry bacon in a soup pot until crispy. Remove the bacon from the pot.

Add onions to the pot. Saute until soft.

Meanwhile, you need to roast your peppers. I have shown this a bunch of time. It is so easy. Put the peppers on a cookie sheet lined with foil. Broil on high until it is blistering and kind of charring on all sides. You will need to keep an eye on them, turning as needed.

Put into one of your plastic grocery bags for 5 - 10 minutes. My peppers were huge. If you find small ones, you should use 3 or 4.

Peel off the outer skin. Super Easy. Poblano peppers are so so good. They are not as hot as a jalapeno. Just right! Locally, you can find them at the Mexican grocery store or the other place I mentioned. Grocery stores in Fairview heights and St. Louis also has them. You can also grow them in your garden. I have them planted. So excited!

The onions should look like this. Then add garlic; saute a few minutes.

I added the poblanos and sauteed them for a few minutes then added the stock.

Then add the tomato paste. I love the tubed tomato paste. When you buy a can, it seems like you never need the whole can. I can squeeze out what I need and store in the frig until the next time.

Add the beans. Simmer for 15 minutes; covered.

I know I have said this before, get a stick blender if you do not have one. You will love it. This one is my Mom's ♥, who has not been with me for 12 years. She was so up on her kitchen tools! Blend the soup just until the big pieces of pepper are blended.

This is when I decided it was too thick.  Kate made a comment that it was the consistency of re-fried beans….that was all I needed to hear. I hate the thick re-fried beans. This is where I added one more cup of chicken broth. That was a good decision!

After I added 1 cup of broth, I added the corn, that I cut corn off the cob. I am sure you could use frozen.

I also added a squirt of hot sauce. I used Sriracha. It is a great sauce to use to heat things up.

Simmer the soup for 5 minutes. We had an ASA student come over to interview Mark, so I just put the lid on it until we were ready on low low heat. I wish I had taken a photo of her, she was so cute and professional with her recorder and clip board. She had GREAT questions. I hope she will share her report with us.

Add juice of one lime. Again, if you do not have this gadget...you need it. You will not believe how much more juice you get.

Dump the bacon in the pot.

Garnish with cilantro and avocado. Kate and I loved the avocado in it, Mark not so much.

Tomorrow I am going turkey hunting with Mark. Yes, you heard me right!

If I want Mark to go to this with me tomorrow, 4 Hands Food Truck, I need to go turkey hunting with him in the morning! I had rules: it has to light out, half way warm outside and NO snakes! Stay tuned! I am going to bring my kindle and read or listen to 50 Shades of Grey! Holy cow, have you read that book. Steamy!

~Relish Food & Life

Leave a Reply

