Chicken Stew with Olives and Lemon

Standard

I am back! I have been a busy girl. I apologize for not posting in a while. I went to Germany for a wedding of a special couple in May. I hope to post on that trip after I get through all the photos.

Sunday, I got back from Las Vegas where we celebrate a 25th Wedding Anniversary. That trip was loads of fun. It was great getting to spend time with some High School friends. The weekend was way too short. They renewed their vows at Graceland Chapel. That was a hoot. Jon Bon Jovi was married there along with other celebrities. We found out the next day Jon Bon Jovi stopped by there to show his son where they got married. That would of been the icing on the cake to see him there. So much fun, great memories were made.

Before I left for Vegas, I golfed in league, this recipe was what we had for dinner after golf. I had to try it at home. It is delish!

Chicken Stew with Olives and Lemon
Adapted from Sunset Magazine – My Recipes

  • 2 lbs boneless, skinned chicken thighs, rinsed and patted dry
  • 4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3 teaspoons each salt and freshly ground black pepper, plus more to taste
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 5 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tablespoon capers, drained and minced
  • Grated zest and juice of 2 lemon
  • 1 cup dry white wine
  • 32 oz  chicken broth
  • 2 pound Yukon Gold potatoes, scrubbed and cut into 3/4-in. cubes
  • 2 cans artichokes, drained and quartered *see note
  • 2 cup finely chopped flat-leaf parsley *see note
  • 2 cup pitted medium green olives

Cut each chicken thigh into 2 or 3 chunks. In a resealable plastic bag, combine flour, salt, and pepper. Add chicken, seal, and shake to coat.

2. Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add chicken (discard excess flour) in a single layer and cook, turning once, until browned, 4 to 5 minutes total. Transfer to a plate.

3. Reduce heat to medium. Add garlic, capers, and lemon zest and stir just until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add wine and simmer, scraping up browned bits from bottom of pan, until reduced by half, about 2 minutes. Add broth, potatoes, and chicken and return to a simmer. Lower heat slightly to maintain simmer, cover, and cook 10 minutes.

4. Add artichokes to pot and stir. Cover and cook until potatoes are tender when pierced. Stir in parsley, lemon juice to taste, and olives. Season with additional salt and pepper to taste. Serve hot, with lemon wedges on the side.

Note: I could not find the Flat Italian parsley at the local grocery. I prefer that kind of parsley to the curly stuff. I bought the curly stuff to put in there…but just could not put it in there. I cannot stand anything curly like that. It gives me heebie jeebies! It tasted fine without it!

The original called for frozen artichoke hearts, I could not find them either. Canned worked out fine.

You can find boneless, skinless thighs in grocery stores. Cut each thigh into 4 -5 pieces.

Put flour, salt and pepper into a plastic bag.

Add the chicken and toss around to coat the chicken with the flour mixture.

Brown the chicken thighs on both sides.

When brown, put on a plate.

While your chicken is browning, zest your lemon.

Mince your garlic and capers.

Add capers, garlic and lemon zest. I think I did this part wrong…but it turned out.

Add the wine.

Scrap up the yummy brown bits off the bottom of the pot.

Add the chicken broth, potatoes and chicken. Bring to simmer.

Cover, simmer for 10 minutes. Add the artichokes; stir. Cover and cook until potatoes are done.

Stir in olives, lemon juice. Season with additional salt and pepper.

This was good. I am not a big olive lover, but this was mighty tasty. I even ate the olives 😉

2 responses »

  1. Im going to give this a shot tonight, only two things I plan on changing 1) I want to thicken it up a bit 2) Layer it over some white rice. Maybe its just me but I think rice can go with pretty much anything…oh and hot sauce but thats another story.

Leave a Reply

