Got Tomatoes? Make Bruschetta Chicken!

Standard

What a crazy busy summer! It sure flew by! I am done traveling for a bit, time to get cooking again.

I started out having a garden this year, but with the drought, it is non-existent. I was fortunate that Melissa brought me over some grape tomatoes. This recipe was great to use them in. I found it on one of favorite sites, The Pioneer Woman. click to see the original recipe.

Bruschetta Chicken

  • 1 T Olive Oil
  • 5 7 cloves Garlic,  Minced
  • 1 pint Red Grape Tomatoes, Halved Lengthwise ( I used all red)
  • 1 pint Yellow Grape Tomatoes, Halved Lengthwise
  • 1 T Balsamic Vinegar
  • 16  Basil Leaves (chiffonade)
  • Salt And Black Pepper To Taste. (Don’t add salt until ready to serve.)
  • 8 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, Cut In 1/2, this will create 2 thin breast out of one.
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • Freshly Grated Or Shaved Parmesan

In a small skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add garlic and stir, lightly frying for about a minute, remove before the garlic gets too brown (it can be golden.) You really need to keep your eye on the pan. It can get brown quickly. Pour into a mixing bowl and allow to cool slightly.

Add tomatoes, balsamic, basil, and pepper to the bowl. Toss to combine, taste and add more basil if needed. Cover and refrigerate for an hour or two. Add salt before serving. (I added a dash more of balsamic and a splash of olive oil.

Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper, then grill or saute them until done in the middle.

To serve, add salt to tomato mixture, stir and taste if it needs more salt. Careful not to over salt. Arrange chicken breasts on a plate then spoon a generous amount of bruschetta topping over the top. Serve with grilled/toasted baguette with extra bruschetta on top.

The  baguette was really good: You can grill, toast in the oven OR browning then in a skillet with butter was really good. I did have a problem with the butter getting too brown. So, you really need to keep an eye on it. The next time, I just brushed the slices with butter and sprinkled some garlic on and browned them in the pan. Sooo, good. If you scroll down on Pioneer Womans link you will see how she made the bread.

Notes: I really like my bruschetta that I make better than this one, that is why I added olive oil and a bit more balsamic to it. But I really liked sauteing the garlic in this one. I will try that next time when making my recipe. Here is the brushetta I make regularly. I served it with garlic or regular toasted baugette.

Bruschetta

  • 2 cups chopped plum, grape or cherry tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 to 2 T balsamic vinegar
  • Garlic varies for me when making it. It can be anywhere for 1/4 tsp to 5 cloves 😉
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • pepper

Combine all ingredients. This can be made a few hours ahead of time. So good.

7 cloves of garlic, minced.

Add garlic to olive oil in a hot skillet until golden, not brown.

These grape tomatoes were huge, so I cut them in quarters. I only had red tomatoes and did could not find yellow ones locally – I am sure this was just as tasty.

Add garlic,balsamic, basil, and pepper to the tomatoes. Refrigerate.

Cut chicken breast in half to make 2 thin ones out of one. Season with salt and pepper. I also sprinkle some Italian seasoning on one side. Grill or saute them until done. I sautéed them in a pan.

Meanwhile, cut your baguette into slices.

Here I melted butter then added them to the pan. Cooked until golden brown on each side. The next time I made them, I brushed each side with butter then cook until golden brown on both sides. Which seemed to work better for me.

Before serving add salt to the bruschetta; stir and taste. Adjust if needed.

Bruschetta Chicken

While enjoying our pool, we had some visitors who also wanted to enjoy it. It was tricky getting them out of there.

Momma and 10 baby DUCKS!

A few more weeks before the kiddos are back into school, enjoy them.

~Relish Food & Life!

Leave a Reply

