Skillet Roasted Garlic and Thyme Chicken

Standard

It’s THYME to get back in the saddle and start blogging again. Last night I made this chicken I found on Pinterest and it was pretty darn good. Add a Pinch is where I found this recipe.  She has some yummy looking recipes posted on her site.

Her recipe suggests preheating the oven to 475°. I preheated the oven to 450°. I was also roasting corn on the cob in the oven and that was the suggested temp for the corn. So I roasted the chicken a little longer in the oven, but not too much longer.

Skillet Roasted Garlic and Thyme Chicken

Ingredients
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 6-8 chicken thighs, skin on ( I used thighs and legs)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 6  8 whole garlic cloves, peeled
  • fresh thyme sprigs

Preheat oven to 475º degrees.

Heat 12-inch cast iron skillet over medium-high heat on stove top.  Drizzle in olive oil and heat, but do not let it get to a smoking point.

Sprinkle salt and pepper on chicken thighs and place the chicken skin side down into skillet. Cook until chicken skin has browned. Turn and reduce heat to medium. Cook chicken until fat has rendered off, about 10-12 more minutes.

Sprinkle the chicken with paprika, tuck in whole garlic cloves throughout chicken thighs, and top with thyme sprigs. Place in oven and roast until chicken temperature registers 160º F, about 12-13 more minutes (depends on if you have your oven temp at 450° or 475°). Remove from oven and allow to rest for about 5 minutes.

Please excuse my photo. I took it with my phone after I realized how good the chicken was and most of it was consumed 😉

20131105-084322.jpgThe garlic was so good in this dish. I served it with small whole red potatoes that I microwaved with olive  oil, salt and pepper. I smashed the garlic into my potato…oh yeah, that was good. I also served oven roasted corn on the cob, I will post that recipe on a different day. It was really good and easy.

After our last dog passed away a few years ago, I swore I would not get another dog. Never say Never….I would like you to meet the newest addition to our family. He has brought so much joy to our home. We loved him as soon as we saw him.

Louie

Louie

~Relish Food & Life

Leave a Reply

